books and more

16Mar10

When time separates us humans from spring, we tend to remember it the way that songs and TV frame it for us:  renewal of life, emergence from hibernation, sunshine and new love.  Spring is all of these things and it can be glorious.  What we forget are the days of rain, the never ending battle of wind VS. umbrella, and the muddy white shoes.  Spring doesn’t really know what it wants to be yet; it’s in an in-between period, but it’s getting there.  Spring is totally crazy, but the good days make up for the bad, right?

Lately I’ve been feeling like spring.  In other words, a little crazy.  Everything is either good or bad.  One minute I am overjoyed by the fact that today kicks of Rolling Stones week on American Idol and the next I’m saying “the best thing about life is that we all die anyways, so nothing really matters” to my room-mate, in a serious way.

You’ll be happy to know that today was a good day.  The sun was out and I was set on seeking out this second-hand bookstore called Books and More just east of Woodbine.

If the name of the store were going for accuracy, it should perhaps be re-named “John Grisham Paperbacks and OH MY GOD LOOK AT ALL THIS VINYL!”

There were rows and rows of it.  There were multiple copies of multiple Zeppelin albums.  There was Let it Be for $10.  Unfortunately, there was no credit accepted.  You see?  So many ups and downs.

This is taking too long.  The point is that I didn’t find any inspirational book covers, but instead found some pretty hilarious albums.  Hilarious, and obscure, because practically every album I wrote down to feature here has somehow been kept a secret from the internet.  Every album, except for this gem:

Bronski Beat is a band I’d never heard of before today.  I think I would have survived should they have remained unknown to me.  I like this cover because those words are written out in sprinkles and I recently had an enjoyable encounter with a vanilla dip sprinkle doughnut —  it was enjoyable because there was a surprising jelly centre!

I also like it because it reminds me a lot of this iconic Rolling Stones album that’s pretty fantastic conceptually:

Up:  Rolling Stones week on American Idol.

Down:  Not having cable.



One Response to “books and more”

  1. 1 Lewis

    ‘One minute I am overjoyed by the fact that today kicks of Rolling Stones week on American Idol and the next I’m saying “the best thing about life is that we all die anyways, so nothing really matters” to my room-mate, in a serious way.’

    This makes you sound bi-polar, deary. 🙂


Leave a comment